Reality hits hard…

This afternoon I sat down to read the newspaper, like I generally do every afternoon. But this afternoon was different. I read my usual articles: Local news, celebrity birthdays, Dear Abby, Marriage Licences, Births and Deaths. It was when I read the deaths that I came across the name of a woman I went to school with. She died last Saturday, and she left behind her daughter, who I believe is 6 years old.

I was shocked ( to tell the truth I still am. ). What’s surprising me though, is the fact that I can’t stop thinking about it. We were never close. Actually we really couldn’t stand each other. She picked on me constantly for years. To me, she was one of those people that I wished for to be absent ( from school) just so I could have a day of peace. I’ve talked to her probably twice since high school, when I happened to run into her at the grocery store.

Hearing about her death has really got me thinking about my life, my family and my children. I don’t know a whole lot about her life…she wasn’t married…and now her little girl has to grow up with just the little knowledge of her mother that she has right now. I can’t imagine what losing either Doug or myself would do to my kids…

When you have something that important to live for, you have to live your life like every day is your last…I can only hope that when it is my time to go, that I will have no regrets about anything that’s happened in my life. I hope that I will have instilled good values on my children, and that everyone dear to me knows how much I love them.

One thought on “Reality hits hard…

  1. Chantelle, reading what you wrote about you know who was very interesting. I felt very much the same way about her as a child, she picked on me so much. As an adult, I realize that was insecurity and I also realize that her drug overdose (which caused her death) was that same insecurity haunting her in her adult life. What a terrible shame.

    I do feel for her daughter. Hopefully she has a strong support system and can come to terms with the loss of her mother. My mom died 5 years ago and I can’t imagine what my life would have been like if she’d died when I was young.

Leave a Reply

