Has it Really Been 11 Days?

When I realized that it has been 11 days since I posted (last year!!) I thought I should get my act together and do an update post.

Things are going well here. The holidays are behind us and things are staring to go back to normal. Aaron and Taylor started back to school this week. I think they are glad to be back. I know I am glad that they are back…Aaron was starting to drive me crazy…8 year olds get that way after a while… 🙂

Emma has got a new word…well, words…I think she’s saying “doggy”, but sometimes it sounds like “ducky” or even “Dougie”. I’m sticking with “doggy”.

Last Thursday my last living grandparent (grandfather on my mom’s side) passed away. I debated on whether or not to post it…guess I’m going to…

This might sound terrible, but I (well my sister and brothers, too) didn’t really know him all that well. He lived in the area all our lives, but we never really saw him all that much. In fact, the last time I saw him was when Emma was three weeks old. My mom and I had taken her and Taylor to see him (Aaron was in school). He had Alzheimer’s and didn’t know who I was. It was kinda scary, almost. Anyway, pretty much the only times we ever saw him was at weddings and graduations…

So, the visitation was on Monday and the funeral was Tuesday morning. It was a very nice service. At the burial, there was a 21 gun salute (he served in the army during WWII). I saw a lot of family that I haven’t seen since I was a teenager.

That’s pretty much all that’s been going on…it’s been an off week…hopefully I’ll be able to post more frequently now.

One thought on “Has it Really Been 11 Days?

  1. Glad for the update. I send my condolences to your grandfather and I’m sure the 21 gun salute was a pretty moving thing. I’m still feeling guilty because I didn’t make the trek back to Ohio when my (last living) grandparent died. The last time I talked to him he said I was a boy and that I drank too much beer (i was like 20). Somehow that’s a happy memory 🙂

    Glad the kids are back in school and you maybe just maybe have a second to breathe!

Leave a Reply

