Diaper Ditching, Potty Training and Lippy 8 Year Olds

My darling little Emma has decided that clothing is no longer an option. Literally. She never wants to wear clothing anymore! Even diapers…I didn’t think I had to worry about the diapers, but I was sadly mistaken.

As of lately, Emma will wear her clothes for an hour or two and then she starts whipping things off. If she can’t get the clothing off on her own, she’ll tug and pull at it until someone takes it off for her.

Two mornings ago I walked into my bedroom to get dressed and the was a diaper on my bed, so I tracked down Emma and lifted her nightgown only to find her completely naked underneath. Fortunately I think I caught her before she pottied anywhere…

I swear my child is a budding nudest.

Taylor, on the other hand, is beginning to progress with her potty training. After many months of being plateaued ( Plateaued…Is that a word? If not, it is now.) things are starting to improve. It seems like she is able to “hold it” longer than she has been. Most mornings she is waking up dry ( funny, that always seemed to be the hard part with Aaron) and she is having 1 to 2 accidents a day (if any)…a definite improvement from 3-5 accidents a day. A couple of days this week she was dry 24 hours or more and I didn’t even have to put her on the potty every hour on the hour.

So now after almost 8 months of plugging away at this potty training thing, we are getting some good results. I knew it would be a process and that’s why I haven’t/won’t give up. If I do, yeah, it’ll be easier on me and Doug, but it could be bad for Taylor. Trial and error is how she learns and I wouldn’t want to have her regress just to have to relearn all that she has learned if we were to quit potty training. I was really hoping to have her fuly trained by 4 (July). If she keeps on the trend she’s on now, she could be, but even to have her close will make me happy.

Now for my rant about my lippy 8 year old. Sometimes I am so glad that kid is in school all day. Even so, that sanctuary will be ending soon and I’ll have to face another glorious summer with the child who knows everything (well, at least he thinks he does). Don’t get me wrong, I love Aaron to death and for the most part he’s a great kid. But there’s times when his additude and smart mouth get the best of him.

What I hate is when he insists that I am wrong about something and he is right, but he’s clearly wrong. I have even looked up things on the internet to prove I am right and then he tells me “You think I’m stupid.” or “You don’t love me.” and all the other things that kids says to hurt their parents. This kid won’t be a teenager for another 4 1/2 years (Lord help me then) and he’s already playing those games with us. I swear I will have completely grey hair by the time that child graduates high school. Either that or it will have fallen out.

Ahh…the joys of motherhood.

Speaking of that, this weekend is mother’s day weekend, so Happy Mother’s Day! Be good to your moms…and if you are a mom…milk it for all it’s worth, I know I will!

2 thoughts on “Diaper Ditching, Potty Training and Lippy 8 Year Olds

  1. Good news on Taylor-great to see that she is progressing so well.

    As for Aaron, I don’t know how you can handle that-you seem damned if you do, damned if you don’t. If he doesn’t like seeing facts and think that you think he is stupid, then there is a disconnect there. Maybe say “hey Aaron, let me show you where you can find those facts” and help him understand that “facts” are facts, not a person’s opinions. Don’t know if that helps, but best of luck. Boys!!

  2. Hi there 🙂

    New badges and widgets for the autism bloggers can be found at my new site (the one the badge links to now is gone) here. There’s also a list of autism bloggers on twitter, friendfeed, plurk, etc too.

    EIGHT MONTHS? Ugh. We just started potty-training in earnest again at my house. Hoping it goes a bit quickly, but at this rate it may be next year lol.

    ~g

Leave a Reply

