Kiddo Update

I haven’t really done an update post in a while, so I thought I’d catch everyone up on our happenings. 

Emma is talking up a storm!  I seriously think that she picks up a new word or phrase daily.  She is big into pretend play.  At the moment, Emma thinks she is a dinosaur (which, by the way, she can say).  She’s stomps through the house with her “claws” in the air yelling “DINO-SOOOR!  DINO-SOOOR!”  Adorable. 

She is getting good at naming her colors and is even starting to be able to point them out.  She knows her “parts of the body” well, but her best area is naming off facial features, including eyebrows.  She can also count to 14, which is blowing me away, seeing that she is not even 2 yet.

Taylor is just about done with her summer semester at school.  Her last day is Thursday and she will be off for the remainder of the summer.  She’s been working hard at school and it shows.  Yesterday during lunch, she used sign langauge to ask for more food.  I was estatic!  Granted, what I would really love is for her to speak, but at this point, any communication is better than nothing.  I am going to start trying to learn some simple sign language so maybe we can use that with her.

 We are still plugging away on the potty training.  We are at almost a year now.  I was hoping it would not take this long, but I knew full well when I started this that it wasn’t going to be easy.  At least she’s made progress since last year.  That’s what helps keep me going, I swear. 

 Aaron is dreading the end of summer and the start of another school year.  He’s a little nervous because now that he’s in third grade he has to go to a different school.  It’s understandable.  I’m sure it will not take long before he’s accustomed to his new school. 

I, on the other hand, am very excited about the start of the new school year. Not so much about the end of summer, though.  It will be nice to have it be a little quieter around here.  I think these kids are making me prematurely grey. Seriously. 

Oh, btw, I wanna wish my little sis a Happy 25th!  Ha ha, you’re old now.  🙂  Kristi’s cake

3 thoughts on “Kiddo Update

  1. Ha! I love Emma’s dinosaur imitation! My Emmy likes to pretend that she is a monster, but gets very defensive if I say that she is a monster. She tells me, “I’m not monster, I’m Emmy.” Duh.

  2. I had a dream about Taylor yesterday. And in the dream she was talking and telling you (and I since I was there) all about how autism was affecting her and how much she appreciated you were doing for her. I woke up from the dream feeling so happy/sad at the same time. I think of you guys a lot!

  3. Sign is a great way to communicate. (I should know, since I use it to teach and talk to deaf people) : )

Leave a Reply

