We Got a House!

A goal that Doug and myself have been working on for a long time has finally been achieved.  Last Monday (the day before my birthday)  we found out that we got the house we’ve been wanting.  What a birthday present!  We’re not buying, but renting, but right now it makes no difference to us.  After living with my father in law for the past 3 months, we were all ready for a place of our own.

We moved in over the weekend, which actually proved to be quite easy, seeing that 80% of our belongings were in storage.  No internet yet, and probably not until after Christmas, but as soon as we get it I’ll definitely be blogging and posting pics more.

Not only did we move over the weekend, but we also added a new member to our family.  We adopted a puppy from the SPCA of Southwest Michigan.  His name is Shadow (originally he was Rasputin, but we changed it to something a little easier to say…he’s adjusted well to it) and he’s around 4-5 months old.  He’s a shepard/husky mix.  He’s so cute!  I wish I could put pictures of him up now!  He’s all black, with a pretty blue grey on his underside and his legs.  He loves the kids and is very good with them.  Aaron is in love.  He’s always wanted a dog and we haven’t been able to have one until now.

The only downside to our move is that we’re behind in our preparations for the holiday.  We’re almost done shopping (the kids are done…just a couple of miscellaneous things to get yet), but we don’t have a tree up.  Our artificial one was ruined after a tree fell on the shed at our other house and it got wet and rusted.  So, here it is, 1 week before the big day, and we don’t have a tree up!  We’ll have one up by the weekend…what’s Christmas without a tree? 

Another thing I’ve neglected to do this year is Christmas cards.  Not that I didn’t want to…  It’s been crazy busy and I just don’t have the time this year.  I’m thinking of sending out a general letter (with a pic of the kids for far away people) so I can touch base with everyone.  I’ll probably do that after the first of the year. 

That’s really it for now.  If I don’t get to blog again before Christmas I want to wish all my family and friends a safe and happy holiday season!  Much love to you all!

2 thoughts on “We Got a House!

  1. Congrats on your house!!!! So where in SW Michigan are you? We are outside of Chicago which is only an hour and half from the Benton Harbor/St. Joseph area. I also know a few other people up in MI.

    You must take pics of your new house… you are “photo mommy” right? LOL!

  2. Congratulations on the house and all the pleasures it affords. I bet the kids are all thrilled for their Christmas puppy.

    Wishing you well, love and hugs.

Leave a Reply

