The Floor is Not a Potty

This not the first time I have made this statement in the last couple of days.  Emma, who is approaching the potty training age rapidly, has been caught peeing on her bedroom floor. 

Twice.

I put her on the potty daily (at least once).  She doesn’t like to sit there more than say, two minutes.  She’s never gone on the potty.   But she’ll go into her bedroom, shut the door, whip off her pull-up, and pee on the floor with no problem. 

Hmmm…

She did this last night, while I was in the kitchen being all Betty Crocker-ish (I was baking cookies.  Mmm…cookies).  She comes into the kitchen, nekked from the waist down and says “Mommy, I went potty!”

Then she proceeds to grab me by the hand and lead me to her bedroom, where I find her pull-up (still dry) and a ginormous puddle.

Nice.

On the up side (if you can call it that) at least she can recognize the fact that she did go potty.  She’s just got to learn where to go potty.

Potty training her should be fun.

As for my other other potty trainnee, Taylor, she’s still plugging away.  She’s regressed some since the move and I’m having a harder time getting her to go into the bathroom to potty. 

I have found her “secret potty spot” (the place where she retreats to when she has to go) behind the couch.  When she goes back there, I can usually get her to the bathroom in time.

We are now at month 16 with her.  Can we say FRUSTRATING?  That gives a big blow to my supermom ego… I can’t even potty train my 4 1/2 year old.  I know it’s because of her autism, but I don’t want to use that as an excuse.  My goal was not to spend years potty training her…ugh…it’s kind of depressing.

I know we’ll get there eventually with her.  At least she isn’t peeing on the floor!  🙂

2 thoughts on “The Floor is Not a Potty

  1. well, I am hardly one to offer potty training advice since it took me almost a full year to train Emmy, and we are still not at 100%. The peeing on the floor thing is interesting, and actually once she figures out to go in the potty maybe it will be a snap??

  2. Oh potty training… My son is 3 1/2 and we STILL have issues. Anyway, get a small cute potty, let her pick out (if you haven’t done this already) and then try putting that little potty in her room and see what she does. Just keep telling her over and over again that pee pee and poo poo go in the potty. Getting her involved in the process is a really great trick… let her decide where she wants to put it in her room too.

    Just a suggestion… believe me, I still don’t get potty training. These tricks would not work on my kids… but they might on yours:) I have different issues… like my 3 year old pooping on my stairs and then coming to tell me about it. This was AFTER he was trained to go in the toilet for a few months.

Leave a Reply

