Photostory Friday: Taylor’s First Ice Cream Cone

PhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and MamaGeek

IMG_6121
For those of you that read my photoblog, you’ll know that today’s entry for my 365 project is also this photo.
 
There is a great story behind this photo, so now it’s also my entry for this week’s Photostory Friday.
 
Taylor is autistic.  Her autism has severely delayed many of her cognitive and social skills.  She speaks very little.  For Taylor, even the smallest achievement is huge.
 
On with my story:  Yesterday, I was at home with just my girls when Emma told me she wanted an ice cream cone.  It sounded good to me and I knew that Taylor would want one,  so I was off to the kitchen to make ice cream cones.
 
Normally, I would make a small one for Emma and a larger one for myself that I would share with Taylor.  See, Taylor is still developing in the whole feeding herself area.  She tends to eat too much too fast and is known for making her share of messes.
 
I don’t know why, but at that particular moment, I had an idea.  Make Taylor a small cone.  A really small cone.  And see what happens.
 
That’s exactly what I did.
 
As you can see from the photo, she loved it.  Yeah, she made a little bit of a mess.  But in all reality, I think she did better than Emma.
 
This was a big accomplishment for her.
 
Some may think “Ok lady, it was only an ice cream cone.”
 
I don’t see it that way.
 
I see it as a little girl, trapped within herself, slowly breaking free.
 
Another step towards independence and a better life.
 
🙂
 
UPDATED:  Taylor lost her second tooth!  Read about it here.
 
 
23 thoughts on “Photostory Friday: Taylor’s First Ice Cream Cone

  1. Hey, I usually make more of a mess than she did.

    And anyone who thinks that this is JUST an icecream cone doesn’t understand motherhood. Taylor is gorgeous. WOnderful wonderful post!!

  2. Whooo hoo…I’m cheering right beside you…small steps lead to giant leaps. This is a great one..the best thing — you let her make the mess! Congrats to Taylor, but give yourself a pat in the back too for trusting her and allowing her to enjoy her ice cream! Whoo Hooo!

  3. it may “just” be an ice cream cone but from the looks of it to here it’s an ice cream cone. It’s all a matter of perspective 🙂

    Even though it can make a mess it’s great that she still gets to do those small things that matters a whole lot in her view.

    Great story and great achievement 🙂

    Kids makes messes… just a fact and I bet autism doesn’t help. Must be a great excuse though. You can’t really yell at her 😉

    thank you for sharing this story. Can’t wait to hear more of the adventures 🙂

  4. That’s wonderful! I’m so glad she liked having her own little cone too and was able to eat it with zippo problems. I think that’s a great accomplishment. I bet now you’ll be making her a little one every time. 🙂

  5. So wonderful! I am touched by your story and I don’t think any mom would count that as a small achievement. Here’s one mommy praying that you have many, many more!

  6. Wow. Taylor looks so happy. Great job Mom! Fantastic story-God was right to send Taylor in your arms-you are a wonderful Mom!

  7. Never would I think that. I think it is wonderful that you thought to give it a try, and even so much more wonderful that she DID it! I have a good friend who’s son is autistic and know that what most think of as minor, is really significant! I love the picture and the story behind it. Thank you for sharing it waith all of us.

  8. I think it’s really awesome that you were brave to try something new (giving her the cone) and that you found the joy in the moment and that you had your camera too! I have a severely autistic five year old who is just getting to be a tiny bit verbal now and I can totally relate to you and this post. It’s those small steps that really do matter!

Leave a Reply

