Photostory Friday: Big, Icky, Nasty Bug

PhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and MamaGeek

Ok, that’s not it’s technical name.  But trust me.  It was big.  And icky. And nasty, too.

See?

IMG_6765

This is an Eastern Cicada Killer.  Aaron found this in my backyard a couple of days ago.  I kind of freaked because the kids were playing very close to it and they were barefoot.

This is the first time I’ve ever even seen one of these and I don’t know if there’s more.  But I think I’ll enact a “no bare feet in the backyard” rule for the rest of the summer.  Emma won’t like it, that’s for sure.  She never keeps her shoes on for more than a minute or two.  But I’ll risk a tantrum, rather than have her step on one of these.

13 thoughts on “Photostory Friday: Big, Icky, Nasty Bug

  1. yeah those ones are really really big when you see them up close.
    I got stung in the foot (by a regular bee) when I was very young and newer went bare footed on grass for 15 years or so…

  2. EEK! I was thinking – before I read on – That’s big like a Cicada…
    But a huge wasp?! It is big, icky, nasty!!

    What a great picture. I take it you have a pretty good macro lens?

  3. Eww! I am so not a bug person and not only would that make me institute the shoe rule but it might make me institute the “mommy will watch you from inside the house” rule too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

