Photostory Friday: Our Build-A-Bear Experience

PhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and MamaGeek

A couple of weeks ago, Doug and I decided that we would take Emma to Build-A-Bear so she could make herself an animal for her birthday (which btw, is today, otherwise I wouldn’t be writing this). 

We took her to the store twice.  The first time was just a dry run to see what she liked.  She hemmed and hawed forever, but was leaning towards an animal that I hoped she would not choose. 

The second time we went she picked her animal.  And she did choose the one I didn’t want her to get.  I wasn’t surprised, though.  It’s very typical of Emma to go with her first obsession instinct.

She had a blast stuffing her animal and giving it a heart.  I think it was a fun experience for her. 

We didn’t buy clothes for it at the time, figuring we’d buy some for her and give them to her on her birthday.

So, last night, I carefully dressed her animal in my carefully handpicked Limited Too attire. 

This morning, this is what Emma had waiting for her:

IMG_7618

I am proud to introduce Emma’s newest best friend, Crocodile the T-Rex.

And she’s (because there was no way I was dressing her as a boy) wearing name brand clothes and flip flops.

Of all the bears, bunnies, kitties, dogs, frogs and turtles she had her choice of, she chose the T-Rex.

And I dressed it in Limited Too.

Oy.

21 thoughts on “Photostory Friday: Our Build-A-Bear Experience

  1. That is the best dressed dinosaur I have ever seen! But, I can’t help wondering if it was drinking giant bottles of Pepsi that finally did the dinosaurs in.

  2. I think that is very sweet of you! Stuff I find myself thinking of these days (my daughter turned 3 end of May) is that she will probably actually remember some stuff that goes on now….20 years from now. Maybe this will be her first memory – that’s pretty cute.

  3. As a mom of a girl that is now 20 and has always run to the beat of a different drum, you can probably expect more unexpected choices. She obviously sees something special in this one and you apparently embraced it by giving it top of the line duds! Kudos to you!

  4. Oh, I LOVE that you let her go with it! Says a lot about her (she’s her own person) and about YOU!

    Love the outfit…and I WANT those flip flops!

  5. Happy Birthday Emma!!

    lol and I love Build a Bear. We have at least eight stuffables from that store lol. So expensive though :S

    She’s a cutie though. Even though it’s not your typical girly animal 🙂

  6. That’s great you bought her the one she wanted. I’m with you, there are so many cute teddy bears, puppies, kitties, etc. (My favorite is the frog) I’m surprised she liked that one best.

    Happy Birthday Emma!!

  7. Emmy went to a build a bear party last year and I think she also picked the same dinosaur. But me being mean told her she couldn’t pick that one, and she chose a dog instead.
    And she refuses to keep its clothes on. She likes it nekkid.
    I love Emma’s dinosaur! Adorable!

Leave a Reply

