I’m an Aunt! (Again!)

My brother, Kyle, and his girlfriend, Stephanie, welcomed their daughter McKenzie Jamie Renee DuBois into the world at 1:40 PM yesterday after an emergency C-section.

She weighed in at 4 lbs, 12 ounces and was 17 inches in length.  This surprised everyone because she is not a preemie!  Steph delivered only 1 week before her due date!

From what I understand, there was something wrong with the placenta which caused McKenzie to not gain a lot of  weight in utero.  I wonder if this would have been caught had Steph had more than 1 ultrasound…sometimes I think it is necessary to do more than 1, in my opinion.

Thankfully, little McKenzie is very healthy.  She is breathing on her own and doing very well.  She did have to get an IV last night to help keep her blood sugar up, but other than that, she should be able to go home with Steph and Kyle on Thursday.

Doug, my mom and I made the hour drive to see her last night and it was sooo worth it.  I had to get photos, yo!

Welcome Baby McKenzie!

IMG_3717

I’m such a proud Auntie!

IMG_3718

McKenzie and Grandma Kathi.

IMG_3720

Father and daughter…she looks like a baby doll!

IMG_3721

Uncle Doug is a little nervous about holding a baby that’s so little….he did a great job!

IMG_3722

Sleeping…shhh!

IMG_3725

(I didn’t get the chance to get any of Steph…she had a rough day and was getting some much needed rest!)

Congratulations Kyle and Stephanie!

I am so excited to be an Aunt again!

Signature designed by photomommy

5 thoughts on “I’m an Aunt! (Again!)

  1. Congratulations to your family. What a beautiful little girl, and I’m so glad she’s healthy despite her tiny size.

  2. awww, congrats on becoming an aunt!!

    I agree with you about needing more than 1 ultrasound. When I was working at Bronson’s OB/GYN, I know that is all they routinely did, unless there was significant reason for another one. Here in SC, I had 4 with Luke – one at 8 weeks, 12 weeks, 20 weeks, and 32 ish weeks – not because there was anything wrong, that is just what they do, which I love.

  3. I had 2 with Aaron, 1 with Taylor and 6 with Emma. While pregnant with Emma I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism and they did monthly ultrasounds to make sure that it wasn’t affecting her growth. I really think that if they had done another with Steph, they would have noticed that McKenzie wasn’t gaining enough weight.

    Good news, though, she was discharged on Friday, and is doing really well! She’s a fighter, like her daddy!

  4. Pingback: Photostory Friday: Isn’t She Lovely? «

Leave a Reply

