Our Family Portraits 2009

Last year, I began the tradition of yearly family photos. Our last family photo had been taken in 2006 (by a “professional”) and it really wasn’t a spectacular photo.

We needed a change, and I was up to the challenge.

I rigged up a mini studio in my living room, set the camera to timer, and away we went.

We were pleased with the results, and this photo hangs in my living room to this day. It even adorned our Christmas cards last year.

n503225019_2096976_7237

This year, I wanted more. The indoor “studio” was nice, but I wanted outdoor photos with the colors of fall as our background.

We set out yesterday in our coordinating outfits (!) aiming for at least two good shots. One for the living room wall and one for Christmas cards.

There were several that I liked, which is surprising, because I HATE having my own photo taken. Although, I should say that my expectations weren’t extremely high. I figured, as long as everyone was looking at the camera and not making goofy faces, we were good.

blog_587

blog_588

blog_596

I was also lucky enough to get a few other shots:

blog_591

blog_593

blog_589

blog_597

The only thing that would have made this session a complete success is if I had gotten a good photo just of Aaron and just of the three kids. Although, it wouldn’t have hurt to gotten a few with just me with the kids, but again, I hate having my photo taken.

Oh, and just for laughs, I took this of Emma after the session. We let the kids unwind at the playground and Emma’s hair took on a personality all it’s own.

blog_590

Priceless!

I am very happy with the results of the session. This is definitely something we will continue to do. Not only is it fun, but it’s great practice!

But on top of it all it was a great way to spend the day together. =)

Image by photomommy

Cross posted here.

One thought on “Our Family Portraits 2009

Leave a Reply

