Zoo Trip 2010

This year we did not go on vacation like we have in previous years.  With buying our house in the spring and spending loads of money to fix it up, we decided that we would wait on a big vacation until next year.  We did, however, do some fun stuff this summer, like camping (we went twice) and a trip to the zoo. 

Doug and I wanted to go to a zoo we had not been to before, so we chose the Potawatomi Zoo in South Bend, Indiana.  I had been there many years ago as a kid, but it had been so long that I still had that “new to me” feeling to it.

The kids had a blast.  (Although, I don’t know how much longer Aaron will enjoy this kind of stuff.  He’ll be 12 soon, and I think zoos aren’t as fun as they used to be for him.  He insists that he had fun this time, though.)  We saw lots of animals and I got lots of photos.  My favorite exhibit had to be the butterfly garden, because I was able to get photos like this:

blog_357

blog_358

blog_359  

Gorgeous!

 

There were a lot of cool animals at the zoo, too.

IMG_5451_copy

IMG_5565_copy 

IMG_5585_copy

IMG_5678 

 

I got a photo of the kids…2 of 3 looking at me even!

 

IMG_5708_copy

 

After the zoo, we headed back into Michigan and to a place called Lunkers.  Lunkers is everything hunting and fishing. Perfect for this family.  Inside Lunkers is a restaurant called the Angler’s Inn.  The food was incredible!  The portions were huge for the price. 

IMG_5733

My father in law’s lasagna!

IMG_5734

Doug’s cheeseburger!

 

After dinner, we toured the stores.  There was literally something for everyone!

IMG_5740

IMG_5759

IMG_5761 

IMG_5752

IMG_5765

IMG_5764

IMG_5774  

What a great way to celebrate the end of summer!

One thought on “Zoo Trip 2010

  1. Pingback: Long Time, No See | Life, Unscripted

Leave a Reply

