Cleaning Up

I am not sure what day I will actually be able to post this, as I am, for the most part,  without power until Thursday (7/14/11).  Unless I go some where with wi-fi, I won’t be able to post this for a while.

Yesterday, at about 10:45 am, a massive storm ripped through the area.  Most of our town made it through unscathed, but, unfortunately, our little street took a lot of the damage.  There were a couple of trees down in streets near us, but the damage here was the worst that I saw in my drive about town yesterday afternoon.  Neighboring towns also had a lot of damage and power outages.

I was aware that bad weather was near and was able to get the kids in the basement.  I was shutting windows and calling Doug, letting him in on the situation.  The worst of the storm lasted only a few minutes, but the damage was incredible.

After the worst was over, I ventured out with my camera to check out the state of things.  We had lost power, and it pretty obvious why.  Trees , limbs and power lines were everywhere. 

The rest of my story is best depicted by photos…

IMG_6427

Our front yard.

 

IMG_6410

Our trash can.

 

IMG_6413

Looking down the street.

 

IMG_6419

 

 

IMG_6430

 

 

IMG_6434

 

 

IMG_6436

 

 

IMG_6437_copy

 

 

IMG_6442

This is around the corner from us…two trees down, like a domino effect.

 

IMG_6450

 

 

IMG_6454

 

 

IMG_6456

The neighbor’s flag is in our tree.

 

IMG_6460

 

There is a  lot of cleaning up going on.  The sounds of chainsaws and generators are ever present today and will be for the days to come.  I am just glad that everyone was able to walk away from this unhurt and with their homes intact.

Straight line winds are being blamed for this incident.  I love a good storm, but I don’t want to experience one like this anytime soon.

2 thoughts on “Cleaning Up

  1. Pingback: Week in Review « photo mommy

  2. Pingback: Long Time, No See | Life, Unscripted

Leave a Reply

