The Fourth

The 4th of July is done and over for the year.  I’m kind of glad, though.  Normally, the 4th is one of my favorite holidays, but this year was a little hard to bear, both physically and emotionally. 

For one, it was HOT.  Like 102 degrees hot.  I know it’s hot everywhere right now, but it rarely breaks 100 degrees here,  I think the last time was back in 1999 and before that it was the late 80’s.  So, yeah, being outdoors was a tad unpleasant.

Plus, this was the first time we celebrated the 4th without my mom.  I really miss her. 

017

I took this photo of her and Emma on July 4th, 2011.  I love this photo.

We had a big gathering here at the house.  My brother in law smoked a bunch of meat and I made some sides and desserts.  There was so much food!  I had a good time, I just wish the weather had been cooler. 

Usually, I take my T2i to photograph the fireworks, but this year I wasn’t feeling it.  Plus, I couldn’t find the part of my tripod that connects to my camera, so I decided to see how my iphone 4s would handle fireworks.

 

069

 

084

086

091

099

104

100

Not bad for a cell phone!  I found that I got the best photos using Hipstamatic.  I really like how some are out of focus, but not enough to ruin the photo.  Out of focus fireworks are cool, just like out of focus Christmas lights, they just work, you know?

All in all, it was a good day, with great food and great people to share it with.  I am already looking forward to next year and hopefully, the weather will be cooler and my heart will have healed a little more. ♥

One thought on “The Fourth

  1. Pingback: It’s Getting Hot In Here |

Leave a Reply

